I called mum yesterday to find out how everyone is doing at home. Apparently they are all very busy, what with the start of a new school year. Dad’s away on a business trip, so mum is having a hard time coping with repairs (because of the flood), her tuition classes, and being Eugene and J-Anne’s driver. She told me she just had a very hectic week, and she sounded somewhat breathless through the phone.

However, mum shared something that really encouraged me yesterday. Usually she’s so caught up with household problems that she hardly has time to enjoy herself. But amidst all the chaos caused by the flood, she told me she was heartened when she saw the grass in our garden growing greener than ever. After being submerged in water of a week, the soil actually became more fertile, and I can imagine there must be a beautiful sight in our garden right now. As someone who really loves her garden, mum must have felt very joyful seeing the grass grow.

Mum then said she was encouraged by Job 14:7-9. “At least there is hope for a tree, if it is cut down, it will sprout again, and its new shoots will not fail. Its roots may grow old in the ground and its stump die in the soil, yet at the scent of water it will bud and put forth shoots like a plant.”

And that is what I’m hoping for in this new year. I pray that God will let new life spring up in me, and turn the parched desert I have become into a well-watered garden, so that my life will bear fruit and testify of His goodness. I want to learn to cast all my anxieties upon Him, for He cares for me. (1 Peter 5:7). I want to learn to trust and obey Him, and be a God-pleaser instead of a people-pleaser. For He has proven Himself to be faithful, even when I am not.

Isaiah 43:18,19 says “Forget the former things; do not dwell on the past. See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the desert and streams in the wasteland.”

My heart and my strength have fail me, but I know His grace is always sufficient. I know I can become a tree which never withers–but only if I depend on Him.