Many people have told me that faith, is, well, just faith. An idea. A belief. Something you can hold on to live better perhaps, but not necessarily true. Not essential in any case.  Well, I can see where they’re coming from. At some points, I even feel that they are partially correct, although I don’t think they are correct. =D

But I know that my faith is not an empty faith because God speaks! He speaks through the bible, through other people that you do or do not know, or sometimes, He just speaks to your heart. Then there are times when I receive prophecies that speak directly into my situation, and I know beyond doubt that those words can only come from my Father. God loves me and cares for me so much. He knows every detail of my life and he has great plans for my future. It is not imagination, not fiction, and certainly not mysticism. Well, sometimes it’s hard to discern whether it’s God or just me deceiving myself. Sometimes it’s even as if I hear nothing from him for a long time. But God is for real. And He is good! 

Anyway, what Ps. Manni shared last week struck me as a wonderful truth—God wants to communicate with all of his children. He has no intention of letting his flock grapple in the dark, but is always there to shepherd over us. Sometimes, we’re just too caught up with things that we forget to be still and listen. Or maybe, blinded by troubles, we reject him and push him away.

 
But even when we can’t feel him, God never turns away from us.

 
Rev 3:20

Here I am! I stand at the door and knock. If anyone hears my voice and opens the door, I will come in and eat with him, and he with me.

So today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts. His voice is proof of his existence, and beyond that, it’s proof of his unfailing love for his people.