I have been going for counselling every week. It’s not easy to find a counsellor whom you feel comfortable with, and I’m really fortunate to have Charmaine in school. She is like a friend, and sometimes I just enjoy sitting in her room quietly.

She is a one of the best listeners I’ve come across, but there are things she asks me to do as well. For example, we repeat these sentences over and over:

  • I have permission to rest.
  • I have permission to feel angry, to feel sad, to feel frustrated.
  • I have permission to make mistakes.
  • I am loved by God.
  • I am loved no matter what, even if I make mistakes.
  • I don’t need to compare myself to others.
  • I can take good care of myself. I can rest sufficiently.
  • If I need more rest than others, I can rest more.
  • I can make good decisions independent of others’ opinions.
  • I do not need to meet others’ expectations.
  • I can enjoy what I am doing.
  • I do not need to feel guilt.
  • I have permission to feel angry.
  • I have permission to feel sad.

It’s therapeutic. Redecision therapy, she told me. (I’m a bit skeptical about all this behaviour modification methods but…dunno la. Amusing.)

By the way, I don’t think my need for counselling diminishes me as a person in any way. Just like how a sick person goes to see a doctor, I go for my sessions. They are beneficial, and it’s nothing to be ashamed about. So if you ever do need help, don’t be afraid to get it.