A month ago, you told me that you thought it pointless to celebrate birthdays. I said I am a romantic but you aren’t. Well, I got shot down by dad: “So recycled gifts are romantic huh. Hmm.” =P

Whatever.

Well I guess every year presents new challenges to you. Thank you for standing by me through all my ups and downs and for bearing with me when I lose my temper. Thank you for letting me rage at you, for apologizing for your mistakes, for sayang-ing me at night, for meeting my needs. Thank you for being all that a mum needs to be and more.

You’re turning 46. Not that young anymore. But you still work as hard as a 30 year old alpha female. I appreciate how hard you work for our family.

Have a blessed birthday Mama. Remember that many women do noble things, but you surpass them all.

Happy Dong Zhi to everyone else. Make sure your hands are clean when you make your tang yuans. =P