I am relatively happy, now that I’ve produced a somewhat acceptable draft of a speech titled Exam Fever, for my sister’s competition.

This morning I woke up to a quiet house and cloudy weather. For the first time in a long long time, I woke up feeling blissful. My stomachache from the previous night was gone, and I felt like I did not have a single worry. I burried myself in my pillows and breathed in their familiar smell, which I find to be one of the most comforting smells in the world.

After several moments I went downstairs to eat and oh, guess what I ate? White Gardenia! You have no idea how much I miss it after years of mum’s wholemeal, reduced butter bread and 2 years of stiff hostel bread. I am thankful for homemade bread but still, Gardenia is “so good, so fluffy, you can even eat it on its own”. Well, maybe I love it because I grew up on Gardenia. I would eat it for recess every single day for 6 years, until mum bought the stupid breadmaker and it was goodbye to Gardenia.

Right now I just have a couple of things to do: prepare for tuition tonight (and if I’m rajin enough for the coming weeks), mend the torn dictionary as mum requested and make pau.

Oh no I realize I have dance class later. I don’t like it, I tell you. But it’s the only way to force myself to exercise, so I’ve been at it half-heartedly, glancing at the clock every 10 mins or so. I know I said I loved dance but for now I feel totally sapped of energy whenever I think of it. And I have a nagging feeling that mum will ask me to rewrite the speech because it’s not up to her high standards.   

Sigh I want to stay in my bubble of mirth for a litte while longer. No angry frustrated people in the house, no shouting, no nothing.

p/s: I am fiddling with the idea of serving nuffnang ads.