If you ever catch me buying Snickers bars again, please kindly remind me that I don’t like them, that I’ve never liked them, even if they’re the best selling candy bars of all time.

Snickers bar

Somehow I keep forgetting that Snickers=peanut butter nougat and I often get fooled by the image of thick caramel oooozing out into thinking that it’s delicious. My hand will drift over and before I know it, I would have bought yet another Snickers bar, only to regret later.

I’m not a fan of peanut butter. When I was younger my nose would run whenever I had peanut butter sandwiches (and other oily stuff like roti canai). As I grew up and ate more unhealthy food, my body reacted less and less to junk. Well, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, or so they say. But I’ve always associated peanut butter with unhealthy food since then. (The voice of my mum constantly nagging at dad to reduce consumption of peanut butter helped.) Whenever I eat it, I can almost feel the peanut butter clogging my oesophagus, which is not a pleasant experience at all. 

Alright, I think I’ve pretty much convinced myself to avoid Snickers for now. But I can see how a little bit of advertising can just easily sway me again.

It is, after all, an industry of well told lies.