Sometimes, people ask me for advice on where to study, what to study. They express worry that they have no idea what to do or where they’re heading.

Sometimes, I say the same thing too when asked about my future. In actual fact, I have never ever truly known the kind of thing I’ll be doing 5 years down the line, let alone 10 or 20 years. I changed so much in the past 2 years. The world changed so much, and will continue to change at an exponential rate. Yet most of the time, to fend off somewhat demeaning remarks and to avoid being labled a lost youth, I give an answer that I hope sufficiently convinces the other. Sometimes I even convince myself I am sure of what I’m going to do. I am disturbed by the pressure to know, because I think it’s perfectly OK not to be 100% certain about your purpose/destiny/calling or whatever you want to call it, as long as you are working towards something. I don’t think it’s our fault we don’t know it, as if we didn’t search enough or we are indecisive and boneless and weak.

While looking for articles to critique for my assignment the other day, I found this. It was written for a high school talk but in the end he did not get to speak. Pity.

If you’re in high school you must must must go and read it.