I borrowed C.S. Lewis’s Narnian books, The Horse and His Boy and Voyage of the Dawn Treader, from my cousin last week. I was surprised that I enjoyed both books so much, especially The Horse and His Boy.

I read the first book and The Silver Chair when I was quite young, and I remember I didn’t like them very much–I never liked stories that included mystical elements. When they told me about the Harry Potter craze and that he was some wizard, my immediate thought was that I would not like it. =P

I reread The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe after the movie came out, and of course I watched Prince Caspian. They are good stories, I think, all carrying within them some truth about God and life, but I wasn’t crazy about them.

However, I found Lewis a master in making Christian allusions in The Horse and His Boy. The story is about the journey of young boy trying to escape from slavery. Along the way, he meets many dangers, including lions, tombs, and wild animals in the desert. I didn’t really think much of his travels while I was reading, until he came to a very lonely place and met Aslan. You must know that at this point of time he was a disgruntled traveller, downcast because of all the unlucky obstacles in his journey.

Then Aslan came and totally changed his point of view.

This is my favourite Aslan quote:

“I was the lion who forced you to join with Aravis. I was the cat who comforted you among the tombs. I was the lion who drove the jackals from you while you slept. I was the lion who gave the horses the new strength of fear for the last mile so that you should reach King Lune in time. And I was the lion you do not remember who pushed the boat in which you lay, a child near death, so that it came to shore where a man sat, wakeful at night, to receive you.”

Suddenly I (and I hope the boy) could see that his whole life, Aslan had been watching over him! I thought that was pretty incredible. Lewis had me fooled the whole time–I panicked when lions chased them early on and when a lion attacked Aravis (another girl escaping with the boy) nearing the end of the journey. It proved to me that our point of view is often limited…and many times we need to see our challenges or problems in a new light. Some challenges are necessary for our growth even though we see no benefit coming out of them!

This might be a stale cliche but the book made it come alive for me.