I’ve been meaning to say this for a very, very long time: folks that move at some point in their lives to another geographical location where weekends are different are very fortunate.

In my hometown, Alor Star, the weekend falls on Friday and Saturday. Hence we have Sunday blues instead of Monday blues. For the past 3 years of my life, however, I’ve been following the standard Monday to Sunday week adopted by the most part of the world.

Let me tell you what happened when I started college in Singapore. When Sunday arrived, I’d be excited, because though I previously needed to go to school on Sunday, now I didn’t! And Monday, Monday wasn’t so bad because I always needed to go to school anyway. When Thursday approached, my ingrained habit of treating it as the last day of school for the week would kick in. It would seem that the weekdays had flown by.

I would be excited on Friday because Friday was a weekend day! Nevermind that I had to go to school, it’d be one day only anyway. Saturdays were fun, as usual, but the best thing was knowing that the following day was also a holiday, and I could stay up as late as I wanted to.

This cycle would repeat itself, on and on, and I found that it kept me sane during the most tiring weeks.

That was Yow’s Theory on how to keep yourself in optimum condition throughout the week. Cheers and stay tuned. I have more tricks up my sleeve!

