Sometimes, that is how I wish I could live.

I have been reading The Journey of Desire by John Eldredge, and the Eldredges prove yet again to be among the most refreshing authors. I find their writing most honest, true, and alive.

In the book, Eldredge writes, “We all share the same dilemma–we long for life and we’re not sure where to find it. We wonder if we ever do find it, can we make it last?”

As I read, my longings for adventure, romance, and dare I say, recklessness, are stirred.

I am angry. I am angry because we live in a world so full of evil that I am told there is no way you can trust anybody.

My friend lost RM5000 to her close friends who were actually a scam syndicate, harassment occurs, and people break each other’s hearts as often as they change their shirts.

So there is no way I can sit down for lunch with a black guy I meet on the street without worrying about getting cheated, even though he might be new in this country and in need of friends.

I also cannot hop on a jet plane with a colleague I just met to tour Japan, and neither can I do other crazy spontaneous stuff. Everything needs planning these days, oh how I hate that word.

I am angry, and sad, to think of the millions of opportunities lost to build bridges between different peoples, different cultures and hearts. It’s like hearing doors being slammed shut one by one because of potential problems and the realities of life.

Call me unrealistic, but in my heart of hearts, I wish I could live life with reckless abandon. :  )

