Finally, my stint is done.

The life of slipping fabric on and off hangers a million times over, ironing creases to near perfection, wiping mirrors, hunting for codes in the storeroom and tailing customers like a shadow is over.

Oh God, tailing customers like a shadow. You know how we always complain of bored- looking shop assistants tailing us uncomfortably as if we are idiots who don’t have eyes to shop for ourselves?

Now I understand why promoters have to, or like to do that.

Full-timers are paid a commission by the amount of sales they make. If they don’t follow a customer closely, when the customer chooses to make a purchase, they cannot claim it as “their sale”, and other promoters will gladly take the credit. I feel stupid for not knowing that, and even more so trailing people.

As we hook hangers onto our jeans pockets–first one, then two, then four–after shoppers pick out items to try, we also become resentful of people who have no regards whatsoever of the trouble they are causing us as they pick outfit after outfit off the racks to try for fun with NO intention of buying them.

Believe me, it can become irritating. When I first started the job, I didn’t like it when colleagues murmured complaints about customers like that. I asked them: wasn’t it what promoters were paid to do? Three weeks later, I no longer have the gall to ask.

I also picked up knowledge about Display, things I would never have noticed if not for my time here. How to hang jeans neatly. Shirts. Shoes. Colours. There is just so much I have never noticed, so much I don’t know.

Working here is waaay different from working for dad, although he used to sell the same brand as well. Working harmoniously with grumpy colleagues, trying not to step on each others’ tails, and not taking criticism personally–these are things I doubt I would’ve picked up at dad’s shop as the boss’s daughter.

At the end of the day, my mind has been changed on one thing: there is no job too little, mundane, or meaningless that you can learn nothing from it.

