The below was written on 4th Jan 2009…

Today I was telling a friend that I don’t think I’m very good at building strong relationships with those I’m supposed to take care of. I don’t feel that they open up to me, I don’t think I have much influence over them–they merely stay on the periphery of my life. It can be very frustrating if you view it as a responsibility.

Then I received a package all the way from Singapore, from Steph. She sent me a book that Shaun had just published, autographed and all! I was pleasantly surprised, both at what Shaun had done, and at Steph’s thoughfulness.

I remember how awkward it was to be friends with Steph at first, how we gradually warmed up to each other, and in the end what a good support we became to each other. I felt comforted.

Can’t remember why I didn’t post it up in January, but recently this verse spoke to me:

Be shepherds of God’s flock that is under your care, serving as overseers–not because you must, but because you are willing, as God wants you to be; not greedy for money, but eager to serve. 1 Peter 5:2