My ex-discipler back in Singapore, Jasmine Goh, works for this organization called Trybe. They are working with the Ministry of Education this year to welcome the new ASEAN Scholars, and Jas approached me to help answer the following questions. If you’re an ex-ASEAN Scholar, please answer the same questions and email jasmine.goh@trybe.org by 19th October, Monday.

1. What is your name and how old are you now?
Jasmine Yow, 20

2. Which country and city did you come from?
Malaysia, Alor Setar, Kedah.

3. Which school are you studying at and what grade were you at when you were in Singapore?
I studied at National Junior College in JC1 and JC2. I’m now doing Journalism in Malaysia.

4. How long did you stay in Singapore?
2 years

5. How long did you take to adjust to Singapore?

I was always adjusting.🙂 Adjusting is a continuous journey.

6. What did you appreciate most about Singapore?
Singapore is full of crazy opportunities: I camped out in a tent in freezing -20 degrees at Outward Bound Korea, learnt scuba diving, tutored a selectively mute girl for a year…whatever you want to pick up, it’s just there for you to grab.

7. Share with us what the toughest things that you had to overcome in Singapore?
The PRESSURE and loneliness. From a big fish in a small pond, I became a big fish in a HUGE ocean and I got lost.😀 But I had so many people to help me through and I’m so grateful to all of them.

8. How was hostel life for you? What did you like and dislike about hostel life?
I miss it! I loved the facilities and living in a community, I disliked having to share a room with 3 other different people (even though they are good friends!) and inconsiderate hostel mates.

9. Were you involved in any CCA? And how did you manage your time between school work and CCA?
I was in Debate. If you like your CCA, somehow you’ll find a way. It’s not that hard.🙂

10. What do you do during your free time?
Wow is there free time? Haha just kidding. Grocery shopping with roommates, reading, swimming, church, movies, playing the piano.

11. Is there any place in Singapore that you will go to if you miss home?
A windy spot at the Hwa Chong Hostel. The wind comforts me.

12. Any words of advise for the international students:
Being an ASEAN Scholar is a tremendous learning opportunity and a privilege. It can also be tiring and challenging and suck the life out of you if you fall into the rat race. For reasons I do not understand until this day, I crumbled under the pressure. But many other scholars did well and made it. People in Singapore will make you think you need to do lots of things to make the grade, to stand out from the pack. They’re not necessarily right. What I think you need to do is grab the chance to find out who you are and discover where your real passions lie.

If you forget everything else I’ve said, just make lots of friends from all over and have fun!

🙂