I CAN’T SLEEP.😦

This statement leads me to two thoughts:

1. I am slightly high–because I’m scared shitless at the thought of leaving home to some place so far away and at the same time excited for what’s in store;

2. I remember I wanted to write about Epilim; the medicine I take for my cyclothymia/mild bipolar (Dr. Yew Chang Yang, I tried to be more precise this time :P).

_______________________________________

1. I was fb-ing with Cindy who is already in Adelaide and she told me all our (meaning two of us, the Journalism transfers from Taylors) subject registrations are screwed up. When I get all my facts straight I am definitely writing a complaint letter to Taylors for not providing us with the correct subjects in our 1.5 years and now forcing me to complete my degree in 3.5 instead of 3 years. And now registration is closed, most subjects have no places anymore. What annoys me most, however, is that it seems unlikely that I will be able to take up a Counselling minor unless I forego certain credits, extend, do some clowning act. I will deal with the mess when I’m there. Future journalist wannabes who are thinking of transferring, please take note before you enroll in Taylors.

_________________________________________

2. I don’t like to talk about depression because I feel I know too little, each situation is very unique, and prescriptive help is often the last thing a patient wants. A lot of people keep asking, and tell me they don’t really know what I did after reading my book, but my lack of insight in this area is precisely why I wrote so little about it in my book. Lewis Wolpert writes better, says you’ve never been through severe depression if you KNOW how to describe it. Spot on.

I’m just going to tell the people who want to know about treatment: I take two types of meds every day. Lexapro in the morning (to prevent tilting to depression), and Epilim Chrono at night (to prevent the opposite, mania). Epilim is a common drug used to treat Epilepsy but can be used for Bipolar as well. Now the interesting part: my Epilim comes in the form of enteric-coated tablets, and in awhile you will see why the tablets cannot be chewed, broken, or crushed. I was very curious as to why my tablets came in a container containing this very obvious dessicant compartment, so back then in 2007 I remember I was so fascinated to learn this:

An enteric coating is a barrier applied to oral medication that controls the location in the digestive system where it is absorbed. Enteric refers to the small intestine, therefore enteric coatings prevent release of medication before it reaches the small intestine.

Because Epilim can be a stomach irritant, this kind of drugs come in enteric-coated forms. Anything (water, chewing, smashing etc) that will cause the drug to be absorbed in the stomach is therefore prohibited. I found it so interesting.🙂

Since sleepless nights are nights for long stories, let me tell you why I am still on drugs. You can follow the raging debate on medication, but I fully intend to wean myself off medication when I graduate. For now, I can still detect mood swings that are a little wacky in nature, and my doctor’s advice is to continue medicating, so I trust her. However, now that I know myself better, it’s become a very manageable condition.

____________________________________

I’ll be staying 5 min away from campus, in a small box of a room. But I’m really looking forward to the 50th FRINGE Festival in Adelaide where I’ll want to watch all sorts of performances!🙂

Meanwhile, it’s a few days left:

Fri & Sat: help out in dad’s shop

Sun: CNY

Mon: 3pm, I fly…