On and off, my mum will ask me to read stuff on the net, give her ideas, help her with editing and writing, and just share with me things she is doing in her English class.

It is mind blowing that little Gloson of http://www.glosonblog.com/ is only 12 years old. 

I don’t know the first thing about some of the things he writes about.🙂

And guess which school he comes from.

Sekolah Kebangsaan? Sekolah Jenis Kebangsaan Cina?

Wrong, and wrong again.

He is home-schooled.

Gives you something to think about, doesn’t it. I know this whole bunch of home-schooled kids, and I think, very generally, they are more sure about their interests and are more bold (is it boldness?) in exploring them.

Their BM isn’t as good since everything is taught in English, but I’ve read my 9-year old cousin’s English and History textbooks and they are excellent teaching material that encourage independent learning. Students are also actually interested in history, since they are not required to memorize a whole string of Sultan’s names.🙂

It is definitely not perfect–no place can beat a Chinese school in planting seeds of perseverance and discipline (whoopie!), but home-schooling seems like something that should be seriously considered unless we see some real change in the education system.