One of our political leaders said not too long ago that the American way of life is non-negotiable. And we’re gonna discover the hard way that when you don’t negotiate, the circumstances that are sent to you by the universe, you automatically get assigned a new negotiating partner, in Reality. And then it will negotiate for you, you don’t even have to be in the room.

James Howard Kunstler
Author, The Long Emergency

Blame the material I’ve been watching/reading (including this), but recently I’ve become more, uh, motivated to make a lifestyle change.

Maybe it’s true I should really try to eat less meat, have some vegetarian days, reduce my carbon footprint.

Maybe make some real effort to find out about fair trade vs. free trade, and what it means for poor little children when I eat Nestle chocolate bars.

Maybe we can shut Nature out of the room and double lock the doors, but She always finds a way to slip her votes in. And she has many votes.

She votes consistently, clearly, and can trump us all with a Veto.

Maybe it’s time I move on from just turning off the tap.