Ouch!

I came back with a few bruises after paintball on Tuesday. It was a massive organisation effort by Eddie and Xiao Qiang in this faraway place that took hours to reach :S. We were on dirt tracks for ages!

At this point I must go off on a tangent and say the mainland Chinese people I’ve met in Adelaide are quite wonderful. Maybe they’re perceived differently by other Chinese here – both of the same blood in a foreign land, whereas the Chinese scholars in Singapore seemed to be branded with a distinct “PRC Label” while I was there. In snippets of conversations you hear: the PRC scholars this, the PRC scholars that. The PRC scholars are crazy because they do so well. :) But it’s funny how the tables are turned here, I become the minority: I have on occasion been the only non mainland Chinese hanging out, and I find myself at a total loss caught between their rapid fire conversations of communism, democracy, and Chinese history. It’s good though. They’re interesting and very varied, depending on which part of China they come from, their upbringing, and personality. You can never assume.

Back to paintball, it was heaps of fun – almost felt like it was a real war. This might sound stupid, but I didn’t expect the guns to be like real guns! The first gunshot made me jump. They were loud, painful, and we had to wear uncomfortable protective gear all the time (if we didn’t wanna get shot in the eye and go blind). Of course as I got into the game it didn’t matter anymore and I was firing away in bliss😛

Well, the point of this post is to marvel at the fact that I got shot by my teammate, producing what you see in the picture above.

Our team had to bring the flag to the enemy’s base, and in the process of carrying out our strategy, there was miscommunication/misunderstanding. As Louis, Eddie and I were running back to our base, four of our teammates fired non stop at us and I got shot three times despite screaming “it’s us don’t shoot!” and having identical helmets.

Funny how we don’t get mad in a game despite hurting like crazy. Just a little frustrated.

But what about real life, when we’re working in a team? 

Do we keep playing after we get shot? Do we keep fighting with a good spirit? Do we have the inner strength to take the hits and move on? Are we big enough to keep watching each other’s back – the back of the one who fired the shots?

Or do we get mad because we were hurt by our own teammates whom we trusted and expected to protect us, and call it quits because of non-intentional friendly fire?

I respect people who demonstrate that kind of strong love, and I pray God will help me do the same in reflection of His character.