I get paranoid when I start sleeping 4-5 hours a day and I feel like someone’s drugged me with caffeine. It’s a real concern for me because I’m cyclothymic. Over the years, I’ve learnt to manage so much better, and now when I get into the euphoric zone, I deliberately schedule empty spaces of rest in my crazy busy schedule. I make sure I take my medication. I tear myself away from the 1001 things I WANT to do, and go to a place when I can’t do anything but sit and rest and just…be still.

Yesterday was one of those days. I spread myself out on the grass and read my birthday gift, 66 Love Letters by Dr. Larry Crabb.

What a precious book it is…I barely got through ten pages. I just kept reading and rereading the same sentences and passages. I think Crabb, one of my long-time favourite authors, has a real gift in bringing God into the gnawing questions of our soul. Asking honest, heart-wrenching questions, providing beautiful answers…in a way that admits they aren’t really true answers. Communicating that true answers can only be found in a relationship with God. Wow. For someone with such a philosophical brain, and who has done secular psychology at a PhD level, for Crabb to be able to say “[The Bible] portrays a kind of love that Shakespeare could not imagine, a pure love that Hollywood’s best imitation badly mangles”, you’ve surely got to respect that statement. Not many psychology students can make that conclusion, or admit that their profession can never do as much as God’s love can for their clients. To me, Crabb’s statement carries an incredible amount of weight.

So why 66 Love Letters? Crabb sees the 66 books in the Bible as God’s 66 love letters to humankind.

You’ve felt it, and I have too: the letters are hard to understand. They seem disconnected from each other, like sixty-six jigsaw puzzle pieces that don’t easily fit together into a picture. What does Haggai have to do with Philemon?…How does the story of Ruth tie in with the stories Luke tells in Acts? I have trouble connecting the dots. And since we’re being honest, let’s admit that these love letters can be tedious, even boring. When’s the last time you got a rise out of reading Leviticus?

Crabb summarizes the importance of understanding these letters excellently:

For now, let me simply invite you into the greatest love story ever told. If you hear it, you’ll want to be a part of it. You might dismiss it as lovely fiction or religious rhetoric, or you may see it as one larger story among many to choose from to fill your smaller story with importance and hope.

But…[the Bible’s story] is a story that will take you further down than you ever wanted to go and lift you higher than you ever imagined you could travel. It is a story that provides the power not to give you everything you want in this world but to transform the little story of your life in this world into part of a meaningful and wonderfully, larger story that is the only one worth telling now while you wait for the satisfaction of every desire in the next world when you meet the Storyteller.

Check out Dr. Larry Crabb’s interview in The Christian Post here.

