How Now Shall We Live by Charles Colson

This is a book I am attempting to read at the moment. I’m just going to be upfront and say I’m reading it simply because of influence from my workplace, but it presents interesting ideas of a Christian worldview and I have not regretted picking it up from our library.

I was initially quite put-off by the heavy subject – I do not consider myself a philosophical-minded person – so I was sceptical that I was going to benefit in any way.

I didn’t think I could relate on Colson’s level…all these intellectuals seem way too intelligent!

However, I am glad I gave it a go. My initial reading has intrigued me, and some of the stuff written (such as on pop culture) is very, very relatable and insightful.

Chuck Colson writes:

The culture war is not just about abortion, homosexual rights, or the decline of public education. These are only the skirmishes. The real war is a cosmic struggle between worldviews – between the Christian worldview and the various secular and spiritual worldviews arrayed against it. This is what we must understand if we are going to be effective both in evangelizing our world today and in transforming it to reflect the wisdom of the Creator.

He argues his case well, and I hope I’ll find time to get through the book.

Next book: The Book that Made Your World by Vishal Mangalwadi.