I have heard to staleness the statement “God is kind”. What a platitude, I have often scoffed. (I am the outwardly compliant inwardly rebellious type.)

Scoffed in my bitterness and angst. Scoffed at how these mushy statements contradict my experiences, perceptions and observations of life.

Bitter wounds, lanced. One, another, and yet another. The process never ending.

I can almost hear my anguish: GOD, HOW LONG?! I HAVE WORKED SO, SO, HARD. I DESERVE TO BE FIXED UP ALREADY. I THOUGHT YOU HAD FIXED ME UP BUT WHY IS THERE MORE. DAMN. AND ALL THOSE LAZY BUMS OUT THERE – WHY DO THEY NOT HAVE TO GO THROUGH THESE STRUGGLES!

(Sorry.)

Amidst all this, the stream of well-meaning reminders (sometimes a trickle when my foul mood warns against potential approaches) from passers-by telling me the same old “be thankful”, “don’t you realise you are very fortunate”…

Sometimes I beat myself up for not being able to do the things they recommend. It is just not working. And “God is kind”? Now that inconvenient fact just makes things worse now doesn’t it, because how could I be so ungrateful. Why am I so slow to grasp that God is kind. Hey silly He died for you on the cross, can’t you understand that?

But guess what, the passers-by telling me I must not give up, who try to encourage me…their statements turn out to be right. All I have known intellectually turns out to be true.

I have judged some of these messengers shallow, naive and even judgemental, applying with a broad brush stroke my disdain of people with comparatively ‘easy’ lives. So I haven’t quite received them. It doesn’t matter. Now I know their statements were right.

Truth revealed by the revelation of God, spirit to spirit. The sweetness takes me by surprise.

The scriptures I had been reading and particularly the ones I have been meditating on…they came to life by the revelation of God. I have sought God for many many years and I haven’t been able to grasp kindness and mercy – and not for lack of trying.

But God has revealed His kindness to me. It is ever so gentle. Ever so sweet. I am over the moon. A receiving of truth in the depths. My curiosity is piqued for more. Will you show me next that You are my refuge?

My protests have been silenced. I am content. Slightly astounded, in slight disbelief at the reality of revelation.

I must proclaim the excellencies of him who called me out of darkness into his marvellous light (1 Peter 2:9). God is kind. I must tell you about this kindness. God really is kind – not like my attempted kindness. Friends, He really is kind!

Perhaps this is a fraction of what it was like for the woman at the well (John 4)…to have Jesus “tell her all she ever did“. She went away and told the town! Many Samaritans from that town believed in Him because of the woman’s testimony.

Maybe that is the power of the gospel. She just had to testify.

Man-made religion dies. But what God accomplishes in a life is powerful and active. The same power that raised Christ from the dead (Romans 8:11). Truth simply cannot and will not die.

Five husbands. Seems to me a season of confusion and misery. Every relational breakdown a further searing of the heart. A long time in the quagmire it must have been for her.

When Jesus brought her good news, she was ready. Someone less desperate would not have run off and told the whole town.

The Samaritans sought Jesus as a result! They asked Him to stay, and He stayed two days.

They said to the woman, “it is no longer because of what you said that we believe, for we have HEARD FOR OURSELVES, and WE KNOW THAT THIS IS INDEED THE SAVIOUR OF THE WORLD.”

The personal revelation of God.

Real then, and real today.

Treasures are eventually found by those who earnestly seek.

Lord, help me to keep seeking.