Found something I wrote last year. Now that some time has lapsed, I feel safer to post it…

I work at an advocacy organisation.

At 22-years-old, I’ve hardly experienced life – not enough to make objective, confident conclusions about anything anyway.

I have met plenty of fellow youngsters who have blown me away with wit, intelligence, knowledge, complex theories, bright ideas, compelling arguments, stellar achievement, fierce passion, and even some sort of maturity. But I hardly come across people who strike me as wise.

Where is wisdom to be found?

Proverbs 9:10 says The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom, and the knowledge of the Holy One is insight. In Psalm 111:10 it even says all who practice it have a good understanding, followed by His praise endures forever.

My heart is left asking, is it true, God? Is it true? How do I find it?

A good understanding, eh? That just seems so vital, especially if you are to throw your life into any kind of advocacy, or if you are to have any form of strong opinion.

I wish leaders of advocacy movements could convince me that they have a good understanding of things.

Because of my line of work, I rub shoulders with assertions that sound "proudly true" every day. I am exposed to ideologies that couldn’t clash more violently – and it begs the question, who is right? Only one of the warring parties can be right – and yet why are both so confident and adamant in their views? That disturbs me to no end.

Add to the confusion the messy choirs of sarcasm, cynicism and ridicule – darts thrown about freely in the media which only obscure the search for truth, MY search for truth. Where did all of that come from? How did they form their opinions?

I don’t understand.