It was a bit past eleven when a Russian-looking man and his mate arrived to join the 40 Days for Life prayer outside the Mareeba Pregnancy Advisory Centre today.

The man said, “I feel we non-Catholics have been so slack on this, that’s why we’re here.”

Then, he prayed.

“Father, forgive me. A long time ago, when I was a young man, two of my children were aborted. Forgive me for letting that happen. They would have been in their thirties today if they weren’t aborted. It haunts me to this day.”

Everything stood still for a moment, it seemed. I later learned from him that his partner (and later wife, but now divorced) hadn’t even consulted him before both abortions. There was simply no discussion. “She was a bit of a my-body my-choice woman,” he said.

Here’s a site about reclaiming fatherhood and men dealing with abortion.

The 40 days devotional for today (read it) features the verse most-quoted by Graham Preston, Proverbs 24:11-12:

Rescue those who are being taken away to death;
    hold back those who are stumbling to the slaughter.
If you say, “Behold, we did not know this,
    does not he who weighs the heart perceive it?
Does not he who keeps watch over your soul know it,
    and will he not repay man according to his work?

The Message, I found all the more difficult to bear:

Rescue the perishing; don’t hesitate to step in and help.
If you say, “Hey, that’s none of my business,”  will that get you off the hook?
Someone is watching you closely, you know—
Someone not impressed with weak excuses.