A Chinese twist on Aesop’s The Hare and The Hound struck a melancholic chord within when I read it yesterday. It reinforced everything I have known about life. Not hard to guess which animal I identify with.

One day, a hunter went out with his hound and shot a hare’s hind legs. The wounded hare took off desperately, and the hunter ordered the hound to chase it. Alas, the hare disappeared after an intense chase, and the hound trotted back to the hunter’s side bitterly.
“You’re hopeless, you got beaten by a limping rabbit!” the hunter cursed the hound.
The hound was indignant. He said, “Well, I tried my best!”

It was a very different scene when the poor hare arrived at its hole. His brothers crowded around in astonishment and asked: “How on earth did you escape a ferocious hound with with an injured leg?!”

“He tried his best. The worst he would’ve endured was a scolding if he did not catch me. But I, I gave my all. I would’ve lost my life otherwise,” the hare answered.

The story captures only one facet of life (it irks me when people use it as a “work harder!” motivational tool), but it sheds light on so much. The hound and the hare come from different stories. They are worlds apart; can one understand the other?

昨天看到了一则改自伊索寓言的小故事,让我感同身受:

一天猎人带着猎狗去打猎。猎人一枪击中一只兔子的后腿,受伤的兔子开始拼命地奔跑。猎狗在猎人的指示下也是飞奔去追赶兔子。可是追着追着,兔子跑不见了,猎狗只好悻悻地回到猎人身边,猎人开始骂猎狗了:「你真没用,连一只受伤的兔子都追不到!」猎狗听了很不服气地回道:「我尽力而为了呀!」再说兔子带伤跑回洞里,它的兄弟们都围过来惊讶地问它:「那只猎狗很凶呀!你又带了伤,怎么跑得过它的?」「它是尽力而为,我是全力以赴呀!它没追上我,最多挨一顿骂,而我若不全力地跑我就没命了呀!」

这篇故事可能只反映了生活的某个层面 (把这篇故事当激励文的人确实让我有点反感),但从中却感悟良多。尽力而为的猎狗和全力以赴的兔子,人生经历和态度都截然不同… 它们俩能互相体谅吗?